top of page
  • Writer's pictureCurtis Glenn

Things to do During an Extended Furlough

Surviving an extended furlough or work stoppage is never easy. I find that I quickly start doubting myself. However, I have found that focusing energy into other passions can help and also allows you to keep you skills sharp. Here are two examples from my current experience.


1. Start up a Startup

For the last 5 years or so I have been very active in organizing local D&D events in Dallas.

Monkey Mind Tabletop

That is right! Dungeons & Dragons! Recently, with a few like-minded individuals, we decided to create a company that focuses on high quality events that focus on the game. We call ourselves Monkey Mind Tabletop!


Business plans, forecasts, research, contracts, negotiations...it is amazing how important those skills are. I have also written my first adventure and manage a team of writers for upcoming events. The great thing...all these skills and experiences translate over to being an Instructional Designer.


For more information on my experiences in D&D, head over to my other blog...My Life in a Dungeon.


2. Help the Community

Aggie Pride

I am a gay man and an Aggie....two things that are very important to making me who I am. And I am not alone. There are many LGBTQ+ Aggies out there, but we aren’t strongly recognized or organized....YET. Aggie Pride has been gaining steam with events for Houston Pride and our annual Football Tailgate and reunion. It was time to get involved. As the Director of Membership I have been working to get the word out and grow our numbers. I am also actively assisting in communications and planning social media, marketing, and events.


Once again, these are skills that easily transfer to being an Instructional Designer and consultant. I have tried a few new things that I would love to try on the job as well.


Furloughs aren’t easy!

There is anxiety, depression, self doubt, and all sorts of negative things...but there are also opportunities to practice, improve, and build new skills. Don’t let a temporary set back hold you back.


Feel free to share your thoughts, experiences, and questions in the comments. We can all get through the hard times together.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page